e s s a y s r e c o r d l i v e i n t e r c o l u m n s A-D E-J K-N O-S T-Z
H o m e
w r i t i n g b a n d a u t h o r a u d i o l i n k c o n t a c t a b o u t
Celeb Head


  • Young Antiques -12.04
  • Silent Kids -12.04
  • Terminal Band -12.04
  • Almost Contagious -12.04
  • ROBBERS -12.03
  • The Better Half -12.17

  • To receive a friendly email update each time we post a new article, enter your email addy below.

    questions or concerns.

    [ The Dismemberment Plan ]

    Emergency & I

      The Dismemberment Plan - Emergency & I  

    Emergency&I Cover The new recording from Washington D.C.'s own The Dismemberment Plan, Emergency & I, exemplifies every meaning of growth and progress.

    The Plan's previous release,Is Terrified, landed in stores during the calendar year of 1996. The Plan's starving fan base was left yearning for more. In fact, there have been multiple riots in cities around the world because people just couldn't wait for the next volume of music from the smartest DC band in existence.

    Ok, well maybe there weren't riots, but damnit we all wanted to have the new record. After record labels pushed and pulled the recording around, the Plan finally gained rights to their recording and released it on Desoto Records.

    The Dismemberment Plan mixes a wonderful cornucopia of influences from XTC to Hip - Hop to 60's soul and 70's funk to Fugazi and Jawbox to 80's new wave. Emergency & I is the perfect product of chopping, mixing, filleting the above influences - setting the oven to 350 and baking for 45 min.

    So many pleasurable aspects of The Dismemberment Plan run rampant throughout the record, I would be typing for weeks to list them all. So of course, let's list just two of the more important aspects - shall we.

    1 - The fellas' instrumentation.
    Eric Axelson is the epoxy holding the whole structure together. He plays as many notes as possible and as few as necessary to trick and guide the listener's ear on a wonderful exploration. Eric creatively blends Motown and Hip-Hop and 80's new wave into tight, rich, thoughtful lines.

    Joe Easley easily (sorry) fills any room with patterns within patterns within patterns. He adds a fabulous accuracy and individuality to each song.

    Jason Caddell's guitar parts are like the cumulonimbus clouds topping off a perfect summer afternoon view. Each chord - well voiced and well placed - sits perfectly on top of the scenery created by Eric and Joe. Melodically speaking, Jason, chooses the elusive mix of catchy, yet interesting phrasing.

    Travis Morrison's voice delivers his verbose, intelligent, confident vocals in a manner that any aspiring singer is envious of. What's even more impressive is the fact that this gentleman plays guitar and keyboards and trombone all the while.

    2- The Sections of the Song that make your stomach churn with glee thanking your brain for listening to this record again.
    A Life of Possibilities - The entire guitar part to this song is absolutely brilliant.

    Memory Machine - Coming out of the intro, The Plan plays a beautifully orchestrated combination of trading phrases and syncopation that just makes my rib cage bounce up and down with in the frame work of my skin.

    What Do you Want Me to Say - Well I can't think of anyone section that makes my stomach churn with glee thanking my brain for listening to this song again. Mostly this song is 4 min 17 sec of pure heaven.

    Eric's bass line -sparse and driving - compliments Jason's quarter note strokes. While Joe's beat - steady and forwarding creates the skeleton on which Travis drapes his introspectivness.

    The chorus is as catchy as any chorus recorded this century. Coming out of the chorus, The Plan, crashes on the two and four of the bar while Jason reverts to his quarter note strokes. If this part doesn't make the crowd dance, well they just won't be dancing that night.

    I Love A Magician -Good Lord, Eric and Joe's parts for this are so unbelievable. Once Eric slides into his bassline, the song just takes off, thirty miles into the air.

    Gyroscope - Shaving 8th notes is cool!! The Dismemberment Plan has written yet another catchy ingenious chorus for all of us to enjoy. The Keyboard melody brings me back to the late 80's while the rest of the band displays their ability to listen and move with each other.

    The City - Joe's disco high hats set the mood for this one. Jason is strumming 8th note chords while Eric's Fender has been replaced by a keyboard. The stand out section of this song comes when Travis sings "since you've been gone!" The song comes together for a classic 70's late 80's Euro groove.

    Girl O' Clock - This cacophony of Girl O' Clock quick jolts me from the smooth gliding previous track. Joe shines so brightly during this song. His Kick drum throws sound waves out into the room with a blistering force. Eric's cool octave walking line culminates in a breathy bridge section.

    Well those are the two pleasurable aspects I wanted to share with you.

    Thank You - Dismemberment Plan

    Visit the Dismemberment Plan on-line!

    Written By: Geoff T.