e s s a y s r e c o r d l i v e i n t e r c o l u m n s A-D E-J K-N O-S T-Z
H o m e
w r i t i n g b a n d a u t h o r a u d i o l i n k c o n t a c t a b o u t
Celeb Head


  • Young Antiques -12.04
  • Silent Kids -12.04
  • Terminal Band -12.04
  • Almost Contagious -12.04
  • ROBBERS -12.03
  • The Better Half -12.17

  • To receive a friendly email update each time we post a new article, enter your email addy below.

    questions or concerns.

    [ Hey Mercedes ]

    Everynight Fire Works

    Vagrant Records have finally released the long awaited Hey Mercedes full-length album 'Everynight Fire Works'. Thrift store shopping kids everywhere will be swooning over this masterpiece of pop perfection. This is truly a massive achievement for the ex-braiders with new addition Mark Dawursk of Alligator Gun on guitar. Somehow theyíve managed to pick up the pieces of rock & roll rubble and build the tallest skyscraper in the Vagrant Records skyline.

    The album boasts smart emoesque lyrics and some very memorable songs. The catchy lines of 'the slightest idea' and 'Every turn' get stuck in your brain and will randomly escape the lips about 25 times an afternoon. The driving guitars are paramount in a sound akin to the style of The Promise Ring on methamphetamines. Slower jams like 'Havenít been this happy' and 'Que Shiraz' keep the feet tapping and the palette longing for more whine. 'Letís go blue' is a bit of a tragic ending to an otherwise fantastic full-length debut. I do believe 'Our weekend starts on Wednesday' or 'A list actress' would have been a better conclusion to the non-stop body rock of Everynight Fire Works. Produced by Jay Robbins of Burning Airlines and Jawbox fame at Pachyderm Studio, this is an emotionally powerful yet playful record. The invigorating energy of ENFW radiates unlike any other album released this year. Pick it up if youíre looking for some hand clapping; toe tapping, good clean fun.
    Hey Mercedes is Bob Nanna (vocals, guitar), Damon Atkinson (drums), Mark Dawursk (guitar) Todd Bell (bass)
    Rock on.

    Written By: Missy M.